Skip to content Skip to navigation



The Moore Foundation funded ACHIP collaboration includes world-renowned experts in accelerator physics, laser physics, nanophotonics and nanofabrication. The collaboration is led by principal investigators Prof. Robert Byer (Stanford University) and Prof. Peter Hommelhoff (Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen). Three national laboratories ­– SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory in Menlo Park, California; Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Germany; and Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) in Switzerland – will contribute expertise and make their facilities available for experiments. In addition to FAU Erlangen, five other universities and one industry partner are involved in the effort:  University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), Purdue University, University of Hamburg, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), Technical University of Darmstadt and Tech-X Corporation.


Researchers, including SLAC & Visiting Scholars

Adi Hanuka
Yun Jo Lee
Weihao Liu

Post Docs & Grad Students

Dylan Black
Huiyang Deng
Yu Miao
Si Tan
Zhexin Zhao

Management Team

Claudette Earl
Sara Lefort


Principal Investigators Institution Group Page
Robert L. Byer* Stanford Byer Contact Page
Peter Hommelhoff* FAU Erlangen Hommelhoff Contact Page
University and Industry Partners Institution Group Page
Olav Solgaard Stanford Stanford Microphotonics Laboratory
James Harris Stanford Harris Research Group
Jelena Vuckovic Stanford Nanoscale and Quantum Photonics Lab
Shanhui Fan Stanford Fan Group
Pietro Musumeci UCLA Particle Beam Physics Lab
Oliver Boine-Frankenheim TU Darmstadt TEMF Laboratory Prof. Boine-Frankenheim
Uwe Niedermayer TU Darmstadt TEMF Laboratory Dr. Niedermayer
Leonid Rivkin EPFL, Lausanne Leonid Rivikin Contact Page
Minghao Qi Purdue Minghao Qi Profile Purdue University
Ben Cowan Tech-X Corp. Tech-X Corp Home Page
National Laboratory Partners Institution Group Page
R. Joel England* SLAC Dielectric Laser Acceleration Group
Sami Tantawi SLAC High Power Microwave Group
Ralph Assmann* DESY Ralph Assmann Contact Page
Franz Kaertner DESY Ultrafast Optics and X-Rays Group
Ingmar Hartl DESY  
Rasmus Ischebeck* PSI Laser Accelerator on a Chip Group Page
Industrial Affiliates

Associated Scientific Collaborators

Institution Group Page
James Rosenzweig UCLA
Evgenya Simakov LANL
Zhirong Huang SLAC
Yenchieh Huang Tsing Hua University


Asterisk (*) denotes members of the Collaboration Executive Committee (CEC).